Telling Travase

The following day I took a second pregnancy test and also called the Ob/Gyn.  I was able to get an appointment for the next day, Friday.  It was hard not saying anything those first two days, but I wanted to wait and be sure the pregnancy was confirmed before telling Travase.  I had a FCIS Librarians In-Service at Bolles that morning and then plans to have lunch with Trav that afternoon before my 3:00 appointment.  I hadn’t had coffee in two days.  I was tired, headachey, and freaking out, but somehow managed to play cool.

There was a ton of paperwork to fill out and I felt like I had to wait hours before I was finally seen.  In fact, I think I almost fell asleep in the waiting room for a time.  The nurse led me back and had me pee in a cup.  Then she filled out my chart, asking the same questions I had already answered in the paperwork, took my weight and blood-pressure, and sent me to a second, smaller waiting room.  After about 5 minutes, she came out, leaned over, and whispered, “Congratulations!”  I was a little put off that she would disclose something so personal in a waiting room, whispered or not, but that was overshadowed by my stunned frame of mind.  This was really happening.  I was led back to a private room 10 or 15 minutes later, where a nurse practitioner ran down the dos and don’ts of pregnancy and what to expect at my first appointment.  I made my next appointment for  November 9th and was on my way.  How to tell Travase?

That Sunday would be our six-year wedding anniversary.  I thought, What a great anniversary gift!  Unfortunately, I could not hold out til Sunday to tell him.  He came home that night and saw that I was a stress ball.  I wanted to come up with a creative, memorable way to share the news.  Instead, I ran to my office, grabbed the pee sticks, and held them up in front of him, without saying a word.  His reaction was an excited, “You’re pregnant?!”  And that was that.  He was in on my little secret, and it made the whole thing a little more real.

Leave a Reply

