A Farewell to Our Former Life

There are a thousand reasons why we’ve held off on having children for so long, and much of it is thanks to our fellow friends with kids.  It’s unbelievable how hard it is to schedule a double date night or a get together with you that doesn’t include your children.  Also, countless times have you aired your complaints: never get any sleep, kids keep you on the go, never get a moment to yourself, no more date nights or grown up time, screaming tantrums, poopy diapers, projectile vomit –  should I stop?  I can never judge you again, because I am about to give up my life of freedom and self-concern in exchange for the tantrums, diapers, and vomit.  I kind of get it, though.  I have a dog, and I’ve done things for him that I can’t imagine I would have ever done.  And the secret to it all is unimaginable love for another being.  So, yes, I’m comparing the love I have for my dog to love you have for your children, but that’s all I’ve got to go on right now.  And I’m ready (I think.  I guess.  Whether I like it or not.) to make those sacrifices.  So this post is a dedication to my former life – the one I hope I don’t lose entirely, but will probably not see again for a long time.

Goodbye to:

1.  Spontaneous/unscheduled date nights with Trav.  With that, we must say goodbye to eating out at some of our favorite restaurants – Black Finn, O’Brothers, Sumo Sushi, Black Sheep (formerly Chew), Taverna, The Grotto, Capital Grille,  Melting Pot for dessert, Sun Dog.  We’ll need to start getting used to Cici’s Pizza and Golden Corral, as well any “Kids Eat Free” establishments.  Goodbye medium rare filet mignon, seared ahi tuna, and lobster mac ‘n cheese.  Hello, Hamburger Helper, fish sticks, and Kraft mac ‘n cheese.

2.  Calling up friends at 2 on Saturday to make plans for the evening.  Anyone know a good babysitter that can be at our beck and call?

3.  Pre-baby body.  I worked so hard last year to get in the best shape of my life and in 3 months it was all gone.

4.  Sleeping in.  Unless my baby takes after me and LOVES sleep.  One can dream.

5.  Nursing all day hangovers, and drinking so much that would earn you a hangover.

6.  Taking an hour for myself in the morning to wake up – coffee, Facebook, Internet.  I have a feeling my morning responsibilities are going to include more than taking the dog out and feeding him.

7.  Going to bed when I’m tired.  Again, unless the baby is just like his mama.

8.  Coming home from work and having the evening free to myself.  Gym? Glass of wine? A couple hours of TV and call it a night?  Nope.  Not anymore.  On that note:  we probably can’t watch shows like Dexter, True Blood, and The Walking Dead whenever we feel – like at 8:30 in the morning, the way we are right now.  True Blood marathon, anyone?

Trav’s additions:

1.    Late night video games:  Well, video games in general.  They take up way too much time anyway.  🙂
2.    Superhero movies at 9:00 p.m.:  So, when I work at home, I like to have a movie on the t.v.  It usually consists of superheroes, cyborgs, a combination of the two, or hobbits saving the world.  What goes along with all those types of movies?  Lots of loud noises…no more of that.  I guess romantic comedies will be it from now on…bleh.  (Bethany’s comment:  OR you could just turn the sound down to a level where the entire house doesn’t shake.)
3.    Weekends with the guys:  From August through December’ish…it’s usually a live football game or a bar with ten t.v.’s set to show all the NFL games at one time with the boys.  I can only assume that my weekends will now be spent trying to give your mother a much-needed reprieve from her week.  And I plan on loving the trips to the park or the walks in the stroller.  (Bethany’s comment:  Honey, you don’t have to give up your Sundays with the guys.  You can just take the baby with you!)

4.    Saturday Morning Cartoons:  Oh, wait, …that’s something that I get to ADD BACK  to my weekly routine!  Nice.

Farewell, pre-baby life!

4 thoughts on “A Farewell to Our Former Life

  1. They say it’s worth it. Sometimes I wonder if being able to “choose” when you have kids is a curse. I mean it seems great until you have to make the choice to give up your former life. Just think about how much you love Alex. I’m sure the love for baby Erickson will be 1 million times that and therefore, the tantrums, diapers and vomit will all be worth it…says the non-mom. 🙂

    • Amy,
      I agree. Once he or she gets here, I don’t think I’ll miss any of the stuff on that list. If I can love a dog that much, I’m worried about the amount of obsession I’ll have over a child! And I’ll take all the advice I can get, even from “non-moms”!

Leave a Reply

