16 Weeks

16 Weeks

How far along? 16 Weeks – That’s 4 months, people!

Baby is the size of: an avocado

Total weight gain/loss: +1.5lbs from last week.  Yikes!  I blame the holidays.

Belly Bump:  I’m very aware of my stomach now.  It feels tight and bloated, if that makes any sense. My abs (upper and lower) are completely pushed out now.  I can no longer be in denial that I have a bump.  Enter my theme song:

Sleep: Just allergies and tiny bladder waking me up.  Last night I sneezed and pulled a stomach muscle.  Ouch!

Best moment this week: Ringing in the New Year and having one last week of R&R before it’s back to work!

Movement: None.  =(

Symptoms: Allergies (not sure if pregnancy related). Shortness of breath (could be due to allergies). Overall feeling great thanks to two weeks of R&R.

Strange Behavior: I’m regressing to my old high school days.  I’ve been listening to my old girly country cds from the 90s: Sherrie Austin, Alecia Elliott, Lila McCann, Shania Twain, Jessica Andrews, etc., and singing a lot.  (I guess I’m warming up my vocal chords so they’re ready to sing lullabies when the baby gets here.)  I also bought old, classic Bath and Body Works scents:  Pearberry, Plumeria, and Sun Ripened Raspberry.  I even bought a face wash I used to use back then:  Neutrogena’s Deep Clean Cream Cleanser – just because I like its smell.

Baby Brain:  I went to the mall to buy new bras in a size up from what I normally wear.  A week later I realized I bought my normal size, so last weekend I had to go back and buy even more new bras.  Ah, coverage at last!

Cravings: Nothing in particular.  I keep going back and forth between craving junk/fast food and craving healthy food.

Aversions:  The nausea is pretty much gone.  I can eat whatever, but I’m still not a fan of candles and strong scents.  I even changed the perfumes that I wear.  Now my favorites are D&G’s Light Blue and Escada’s Rockin Rio.

What I miss: Being able to sleep through the night or go through an entire exercise class without having to use the restroom.  I’ve always had a small bladder, but this is ridiculous.

What I am looking forward to: finding out if we’re having a boy or girl.  My intuition (and two online “ancient Chinese gender predictors”) say it’s a boy, but I will be ecstatic either way.

Milestones:  Facebook announcement – it’s no secret anymore!

Next appointment: January 14th – We find out the sex!

Names:  We have some in mind.  For girls I like Maeve, Ellis, and Roan (Rowan) and for boys I like Jonah, Joshua, and Liam.  We’re still shopping around though.  Trav likes the name Cooper.  We’ve also been having fun with online name generators like www.babynamegenie.com/baby-name-generator and http://www.nymbler.com

Best text this week from a friend after I told her she was going to be an aunt:   “To be honest I pretty much knew after you turned down a margarita at Campeche Bay!”

One thought on “16 Weeks

  1. Looking forward to hearing the sex. This is such an exciting time for the two of you! I loved being pregnant and had such a positive experience in pregnancy and births I truly pray and hope you have the same. As always, sit back and enjoy the ride! Hugs, Cindy

Leave a Reply

