18 Weeks

18 Weeks

(This is me avoiding a mountain of homework!)

How far along? 18 Weeks

Baby is the size of: a bell pepper

Total weight gain/loss: No gain!  =)

Belly Bump:  I’m actually smaller than the last couple weeks, thanks to my new daily dose of Citrucel.  My waist is too big to button many of my regular pairs of pants, but still too small to really need maternity pants.  That is why I feel leggings should be entirely acceptable work attire.  Alas, they are banned.  =(

Sleep: No trouble sleeping.  Just need more hours in the night.

Best moment this week:  Anatomy scan.  10 fingers, 10 toes.  All is good.

Movement: None.

Symptoms: Mainly I’m hormonal.  The stress from my busy schedule probably exacerbates it.  Needless to say, my husband’s a saint.  While flipping through baby books at B&N, Trav opened straight to a cartoon of an angry dragon shooting fire out of its nose in the shape of the word “Emotional” while a knight cowers in the corner.  I presume I’m the dragon and Trav is the knight.

Cravings:  Cereal, sweets, fruit.

Aversions:  None.

What I miss: This week, I miss wine again.

What I am looking forward to:  Having a full-on bump and feeling the baby move.

Milestones:  This was a big week.

  • We found out our baby’s gender on the 14th.  It was an exciting morning as we told a handful of family members and close friends.
  • Trav and I agreed on a name, which we are keeping secret until the little muffin is out in the world.
  • Trav wanted to be a supportive husband and take me maternity clothes shopping.  What.  An eye-opener.  The world of parents, babies, and kids is not a world we are used to, and we pretty much hated every moment of it.  (BabyGap’s maternity clothes were disappointing.  Their dresses looked like giant pillowcases.  Their “skinny” jeans fit like sweat pants, while their regular pants looked like ones the Golden Girls would wear.  At Motherhood/Pea in the Pod, an unsupervised kid (said with absolutely no endearment) pulled back my fitting room curtain – twice!  I would have been calmer about this except that my fitting room opens straight out into the center of store.  And the saleslady was crazy enough to put a pair of $200 7 for all Mankind maternity jeans in my fitting room.  I don’t spend that on regular jeans, let alone jeans I’m only going to wear a handful of times.)  We both needed a drink afterward.  He got one.  I got ice cream.

Next appointment: February 11th.

Names:  We have decided!  We went to lunch and exchanged lists.  We narrowed them down to a couple choices but couldn’t figure it out any further.  (I don’t recommend P.F. Chang’s if you’re hormonal and aggravate easily.  That place always stresses me out on a normal day.)  It wasn’t until we were walking in to Barnes and Noble that it came together.  We took one name from Trav’s list and one from mine, and we just knew we had a winner.

What’s coming up:  Time to start planning the nursery, starting a registry, signing up for birthing and parenting classes, touring the Baptist birthing center.  Nope.  I’m exhausted just typing this.  Who wants to take this on for me?

2 thoughts on “18 Weeks

  1. Citrucel, eh? I may have to check that out. :-\ I feel ya on the “what’s coming up” duties. Who has energy to do all this? oh, and $200 PG pants?! That’s crazy. I’m sporting some Target dark wash boot-cuts that are pretty adorbs.

  2. Pingback: 18 Weeks with #3 | Oh, Baby!

Leave a Reply

