20 Weeks

Time to celebrate!  I am officially halfway through this pregnancy, and I feel like the real fun and excitement is only just now starting.  This thing is becoming more real every day, but I’m still anxious about raising a person once this whole pregnancy thing is over.  It’s time I start reading books and enroll in parenting classes before Little One gets here!

2-0 bump!

2-0 bump!

How far along? 20 Weeks – We’re halfway done cookin’!

Baby is the size of: the length of a banana

Total weight gain/loss: 11 pounds (up one pound from last week)

Maternity clothes?  I can’t button my regular pants comfortably, and they feel tight in the thighs, so I am now wearing either dresses on warm days, or maternity pants to work.  On weekends, I wear leggings, or I also bought a cute pair maternity skinny jeans.  I’m trying to find long, tight shirts to show off my bump.  I never wore them pre-pregnancy because I would be self-conscious about my stomach, but now that there is a baby bump to hide any bloating or over-eating, I want to rock it!

Stretch marks?  None yet.  I bought some Palmer’s Cocoa Butter and am trying to get into the habit of using it daily.  I hate the smell, but until I have time to go looking for an alternative, it’s what I’ve got.  I’m also trying to eat more healthfully and kick the sweets cravings so that I don’t blow up too fast.

20 Weeks

30, Pregnant, and a Librarian. Pulling it off!

Belly Bump:  As the saying goes – I’ve popped!  There is a definite bump now and no way of hiding it at the gym, or anywhere, any more.  So many people have commented on my belly and/or asked if I was expecting.

Sleep: I don’t think this is going to be a problem for me.  I’m so exhausted at the end of every day that I’m out like a light within minutes of head hitting the pillow.  Little one, puppy, husband, nothing is getting in the way of my beauty rest!  (Except 2am/4am trips to the restroom.)

Best moment this week:  We’ve made it to the halfway point!  And I can finally feel little one!

Miss anything? Friday night and Super Bowl Sunday I sure did miss having the ability to drink.  It’s so strange to be pregnant and bellied up to a bar.

Gender prediction:  Screw it.  It’s been no fun keeping the secret, and we’ve told about half the people who’ve asked already!  At first, I was just going to share with close family and friends who were out of town and then have a gender reveal party, but I have zero time to plan a party, and our house needs major work before having a ton of people over.  Then, strangers and acquaintances would ask, and I’d tell them, because who would they tell?  Then I thought, it’s weird to tell strangers and not my good friends.  I don’t like the disappointment on their faces when I tell them it’s a secret, and I want to be able to say “She,” not “it.”

Names:  We have decided!  But this one we ARE keeping to ourselves until Baby Erickson arrives!

Rocking the leggings!

Rocking the leggings!

Symptoms: There were a few days this week when I was starting to feel 1st trimester symptoms again:  fatigue, slight nausea, and insatiable hunger.  But the last couple of days, I’ve felt great for the most part.  I always feel better when I have time to work out.  I’m getting better about holding my bladder and not having to run out during every class.  But it’s still hard for me to go all out two classes in a row.  One of my favorite instructors come up to me Wednesday night and asked if I was okay because I hadn’t been my normal self in her classes for a while and had even left her class early one night.  She was somehow the one person (love her!) that wasn’t aware of the bump.  I explained, “No, I’m okay.  I’m just pregnant.”  I’ve decided though, that I need to try to be my badass self again, engage them abs, and start killing it again.  Of course, there are things like sciatica and round ligament pain, as well as a small bladder, loss of balance, and dizziness that have been obstacles, but my body and mind feel so much better once I’ve finished a great workout!

Cravings:  My sweets cravings are still there, but I’m better at resisting.  This week, my favorite meals have been Panera’s Chicken and Avocado Cobb salad and Salmon Club Croissant, as well as homemade pb&j’s and potato chips.

Aversions:  None.

Movement: YES!  FINALLY! I felt little one for the first time on the afternoon of Friday, February 1st.  It had been a busy morning at the gym and then a few hours at the library working on schoolwork.  I finally left around 1:30 and went to The Loop for lunch.  I think she was so excited that I was finally feeding her that she gave me a nice little “It’s about time, Mom!”  After lunch, I went to the nail salon, and sitting in the chair getting a manicure and being so still made her wake up and stretch.  When I got to the pedi/massage chair, I think she fell asleep while the chair was on because when I turned It off, she started up again.  After that, I’ve been feeling her consistently off and on!  Last night in bed, I watched my stomach for each spasm and could see little spots on my belly move!  I tried to get the camera to record it, but as soon as I moved, she stopped.  I think she might be a little camera-shy because I laid still for a long time after that and anytime I would turn the camera on, she would stop moving.  Stinker!

What I am looking forward to:  Finding the perfect crib bedding so I can get going on the nursery!  Also, we need to get some home remodeling projects done, pronto!

Next appointment: February 11th.

Leave a Reply

