26 weeks

More gifts for Baby Girl!

Our Aunt Linda sent us a package yesterday, so we hopped on Skype so that she and Trav’s parents could watch us open it while they sun away in lovely Arizona.  (I’m in NE Florida.  There is no sunning happening up here.  It’s still cold.)  Baby’s quilt is adorable, bright, and colorful with lots of fun animal friends for Baby to look at and talk to.  It’s going to go so well in her room, and now that we have it, I’m antsy about getting her room cleaned out so we can finally start putting her nursery together.  I’m thinking we might hang this on the wall the first few months before she’s actually sleeping in there.  I can see it on her little toddler bed, and picture here walking around curled up in it on cold mornings.  It’s perfect.  We’ll probably have to get a little bed for Dolly now, too, so that she can play Mommy when she’s old enough.  Right now, it’s the perfect tool for helping Alex get used to the idea that there is going to be a baby around.  As you can see from the picture, he’s going to be an awesome big brother!

Baby's Quilt

Baby’s Quilt

Baby's Dolly and Dolly's Quilt

Baby’s first dolly and a special, matching quilt for her dolly

Alex is practicing his big brother duties.

Alex is practicing his big brother duties.

How far along? 26 Weeks

Baby is the size of:  14 inches (length of an English hothouse cucumber? – That’s very specific.)

Total weight gain: I’m up 20 lbs total (+3 lbs since Monday’s appt.), but it’s been a bad couple of weeks.    No time to workout, keep forgetting to take my prenatals/Citrucel, and we’ve been eating out a lot more (like every night) since our kitchen is out of commission.

Maternity clothes? For the most part, yes.  I can no longer button my regular button-downs.  My super-loose gym tanks are no longer loose.  Went to Old Navy and bought some dresses in S instead of XS.  Also bought a bikini for our trip to Miami.  Bottoms are a S, but the top is a M!  I’m very fortunate that my butt hasn’t expanded, yet.

Stretch marks? None yet.  Lathering on the MamaMio.

Sleep: I now have to get up about 3 times a night to potty.  We also bought a cool-air filter-less humidifier for our room, but I don’t feel like it does any good other than be loud.

Best moment of the week: Got to see our little girl again on Monday and hear her heartbeat. She is 1 pound 11 ounces!  I apparently have a low placenta, but that’s the extent of their comment on that matter, so I’m assuming it’s not a big deal right now.  I did do some reading up, however, on the subject, and this is what I found:  http://www.babycenter.com/0_placenta-previa_830.bc?page=1

Worst moment:  Failed my one hour glucose test with a 168.  Not even close.  The average range is below 130.  I’ve also been suffering from a cold all week, and it’s making me miserable.

Miss anything? Feeling good and stress-free.  (Hopefully, Miami trip will help, followed by a break from work!)

Movement: Have you seen the video?  She’s a little alien.

Food cravings: Can’t taste my food with this cold.

Anything making you queasy or sick: The glucose drink on Monday made me ill.

Gender prediction: It’s a girl, still.  We got to see her little vajayjay again on Monday.

Labor signs: None.

Symptoms: I’m inept in about every way possible.  My brain does not function as sharply as it once did, and I am super clumsy and messy.  Yesterday, I just about fell over tripping on my legs while doing a simple side shuffle in combat.  Sometimes, I also ge

t horrible foot cramps when I’m in the middle of working out.  I think yesterday was because I was dehydrated from both my cold and that I didn’t have any time during work to stop and drink, let alone time to eat my lunch.

Belly button in or out? Still in, but it’s looking ready to pop.

Wedding rings on or off? On

New sink and counter tops installed

New sink and counter tops installed

Happy or moody most of the time? Moody these days.  Can you blame me?  I think I’m past the “easy” part of pregnancy and heading back into the “feeling miserable” stage.

Looking forward to: Our trip to Miami next week.  Also, kitchen and bathroom remodel being finished.  (They are installing countertops today!)

Next appointment: March 18th I have my 3-hour glucose screening.  We see our OB again on April 8th.

Leave a Reply

