32 Weeks

How far along? 32 weeks = 8 months!

Total weight gain: no longer matters to me.

Baby is the size of:  The US technician estimated she weighed in at just over 4 lbs at our appt on 4/22.  The weekly app I’m using says babies are generally 3 lbs 3 oz at 31 weeks.  Might need to lay off the sweets, but I’m happy she’s growing.

Belly Bump:  Sometimes I forget my belly is so protruded, and I do things like shut a door on it.  I have to turn sideways to work at the kitchen counter, which makes me feel like I have TRex arms.  Napkins go on my belly instead of my lap.  Sometimes after showering I hang my towel over my front and imagine what I used to look like bp (before pregnancy). I’m going to need pedal extensions in my car soon, or Trav’s going to have to drive me everywhere.  My belly touches the steering wheel, and I’m sure that’s not safe.

31 Weeks

Sporting Trav’s shorts at 31 weeks.

Maternity clothes? I’m wearing Trav’s athletic shorts for comfort these days.  I also went up a size in my underwear again.  Yesterday, I had a pretty successful trip to the mall for some cheap summer clothes.  I bought a ton of shirts and dresses at H&M, a birthday dress and a blouse at Cotton On, and grabbed a couple tanks at Forever 21 as I was heading to the car.

Stretch marks? None yet. 

Sleep:  Hard to find a comfortable position.  Prefer to sleep on my side, but she starts kicking the crap out of me when I do, so I end up in a reclined position on my back.  That’s starting to become uncomfortable, too, the heavier she and her baggage gets.  I also started taking naps before my evening classes.  I set my phone’s alarm to 7:30 and pass out on the couch (sitting up, laying down, however).  There’s nothing worse than having to get up to an alarm twice in one day.  But the naps help make up for the sleep I lose at night.

Best moment of the week:  Finishing my 4th semester of grad work.  No more night classes, no more papers/projects/reading until August!

Miss anything?  Sleeping on my stomach, being able to go all out when I work out, tying my shoes with ease

Movement: She’s very active.  Sometimes she feels like Thumper, sometimes she feels like a fish stuck in a tiny bowl, and sometimes she gives me a serious whack that’s almost painful.  The best is when she sticks out a tiny hand or foot, and then I melt to pieces.  She mainly pushes out on my right side.  Trav suggested I push her over, and I’m like, “I don’t think that’s how it works.”

Food cravings: none

Anything making you queasy or sick: none

Gender predictionWe’re having a girl.

Labor signs: I think I felt my first Braxton Hicks contractions on Thursday, April 18th.  At first I thought it was just a stomach ache because I had eaten lunch quickly and probably eaten too much.  I drank a lot of water, but it didn’t seem to help.  My stomach would kind of seize and then release.  I was in the middle of a class, so I couldn’t really take much time to think about it.  I just held my belly and kept on going.  Only one or two contractions felt slightly painful.  The rest just felt like my belly tensing up. 

Symptoms: Every once in a while I’ll feel unnecessarily exhausted, so I think she must be having a growth spurt.

Belly button in or out? In  – I don’t think I’ve talked at all about my belly button, but it is a strange part of pregnancy.  It goes through all sorts of changes, is very sensitive to the touch, and it’s super soft and fleshy in and around the area.

Wedding rings on or off? On

Happy or moody most of the time?  Right now I’m super happy.  But again, easily emotional.  I cry listening to hip hop music.  When Will.i.am starts singing about the ghetto, I just can’t take it.

Looking forward to:  Turning 31 next week, and Trav has planned a birthday beach weekend for us next weekend.  I think that’s going to become a new birthday tradition!

Next appointment:  Going every 2 weeks now – May 6th!

One thought on “32 Weeks

Leave a Reply

