38 Weeks

How far along? 38 weeks

Total weight gain:  approx. 30 lbs.

Baby is the size of: a baby.  The US technician approximated that she’s in the 50th percentile for her size and length, weighing approx. 6lbs 11 oz.

How’s baby doing?  All seems well.  At our appointment, the doctor measured my belly at 36.5 cm.  My last appointment two weeks ago I was 36 cm.  Because my belly was measuring small, the doc decided to do an unscheduled ultrasound, just to check things out.  It turns out I’ve lost a lot of amniotic fluid since my last sonogram (went from an AFI of 18 cm to 8 cm).  This is considered normal for this stage in the pregnancy.  According to BabyCenter.com, “A normal measure for the third trimester is between 5 and 25 centimeters (cm). A total of less than 5 cm is considered low.”  But because it is close to the low side, they decided to schedule another ultrasound at our next appointment.  Yay for us!  We thought we were done seeing our little girl until she shows up, so it’s a nice surprise to get these extra looks at her development.

Position in my belly:  Head down, facing left.  Back and spine on my right.  Her butt is at the top of my belly.  Little hands and feet are squished up in the middle and to the left.  She had to have switched positions recently (though she’s been head down for a while now).  I had been feeling major kicks and seeing her little alien parts poking out on my right, but now her kicks are felt on my left side, and I know that was no spine swiping up and out across my right side the last couple of months.

Also, we learned that she has a full on set of hair.  And she’s still a girl.

Belly Bump:  huge and uncomfortable

Maternity clothes?  Maternity clothes, Travase’s clothes, potato sacks, whatever fits

Stretch marks?  Not yet

Sleep:  Getting prepared for baby.  I sleep in 2-4 hour shifts, having to get up to drink water, use the restroom, and rearrange my aching body.

Best moment of the week:  Spent last weekend at the beach, eating poorly and soaking up the sun.  Yesterday was my last day of work.  There was something very liberating about creating a To Do list and knowing that I wouldn’t be the one who had to complete it.  (Preplanning notes for my replacement.)

Miss anything?  Not being physically handicapped by this giant belly.  Clothes that fit.  Walking without pain.  Sleeping through the night.

Movement: She’s still moving around in there, but it doesn’t seem as intense or frequent.  I have to pay closer attention now that she’s slowing down and running out of room.  Since she’s changed positions, too, she’s not poking out as much so I don’t see her movements all the time like I’m used to.  Here’s a pic of how my belly looked for the last couple of months:

 Triangle Belly

Food cravings: I started cooking again. I think I’m nervous about baby’s nourishment these last few weeks, so want to make sure I’m feeding her well.

Anything making you queasy or sick: the heat, the smell of old, musty library books, and giant black sharpie markers – thank goodness I’m finished with the last two!

Gender predictionWe’re having a girl.

Labor signs:  Apparently, I’ve been getting Braxton Hicks, but they are not noticeable unless I’m touching my belly.  The tightening sensation feels just like baby moving, so I can’t really tell the difference unless I feel my belly and it’s solid hard.

Symptoms: The usual discomforts.

Belly button in or out? It’s out, and it’s ugly.

Wedding rings on or off? Tight, but still on.

Happy or moody most of the time?  Only moody when I’ve been in pain for a while, am overheated, and/or hungry.  Sometimes, when I’m this irritable, I have this irrational expectation that everyone in the world should be treating me like a queen and when they don’t, it pisses me off even more.  Don’t they know I’m working a miracle here?  The trick to getting myself out of the funk is to think about meeting our baby, or other sweet things, like remembering back to Trav’s reaction when I told him we were having a baby.  That snaps me out of it and puts a huge smile on my face.

Looking forward to:  Our next appt where get another ultrasound and see how baby is progressing.  Work is over, so there’s nothing to do but wait for baby at this point.

Baby prep:  Okay, so I get asked all the time, “Are you ready?”  The answer is, “Sure, as ready as we’re going to be.”  We’ve taken all the classes and did our reading.  We’ve talked to lots of wise and knowing parents.  But, as a teacher, I know that the only way to learn is through hands-on experience.  So, having never cradled a baby, breastfed, soothed a fussy infant, pushed a tiny human through a 10 cm hole in my cervix, I can only guess at how prepared I am.  Not at all, or as much as I’m going to be.  I choose to think positively.

As for the nursery, most mom-to-bes are so excited to show off their nurseries, which they spend a good portion of their pregnancy putting together.  This is probably the one area we slacked on, but I’ve read and been advised by so many parents that the baby is hardly in the nursery the first few months.  We have her bassinet set up in our room, her furniture is on order, and with the glider assembled, it is hanging out in her room until we decide where we’re most likely to use it.  We’ve called a couple of painters, but none have returned our calls, so my impaired mother (she busted her ankle trying to do a cartwheel – doesn’t she know she’s a grandma now?) may be painting our nursery for us when she comes down.  Not an ideal use of her time, but she says she’s happy to do it.  And who knows?  Baby might come late, so we’ll have time together to fix up her nursery before she arrives.  So, with that, I present to you the state of our nursery:

Next appointment:  June 10th

Leave a Reply

