Welcome to the Fourth Trimester

PSA:  If I do not answer my phone between 10pm – 7am, it is because I’m sleeping, and I put it on silent, NOT that I’m in labor.  I love you and thank you for your concern.

My due date has come and gone, and while trying to be optimistic, I had a pretty strong feeling this girl was in no hurry to arrive on time.  I can already tell she is going to be just like her mother – do the complete opposite of what you ask her simply because she wants to make her own decisions and not be told what to do.  I like to say it’s a strong, independent woman trait, but my husband might say it’s a stubborn, hard-headed trait.  Either way, girl isn’t likely to show up anytime soon, so I thought I’d recap how I’ve been occupying my time waiting on baby.

1.  Scheduled a ton of appointments

Including our first past-due-date antepartum ob/gyn appointment on Wednesday, the 26th, where they’ll do a nonstress test and biophysical profile to see how baby is doing.  At that point, they will make a determination on whether/when to induce me.

Side note:  (I can share this now that it’s over.)  I was sent in to Labor and Delivery on Saturday morning due to some bleeding.  I called my ob’s office, and the ARNP on duty told me to go in just to be safe.  I was fairly certain I wouldn’t be admitted, but there was a small hope that maybe that could be the day.  However, I was having zero contractions, no pain, and baby was moving fine.  After a few hours, I was being released.  Baby was still floating.  I was just over a cm dilated.  Everything was good and well, and the bleeding was explained as just a “fluke” of pregnancy that could have been caused by a number of things.  This trial run did make me feel better about my actual delivery.  The entire staff that I worked with Saturday morning/afternoon were amazing, and I’m for certain now that baby and I will be in good hands.

2.  Checked off EVERYTHING on my Baby To Do List

We are prepped and ready for baby. Her bassinet, clothes, and supplies are set up in our bedroom.  We broke down and painted her nursery ourselves.  Travase was not excited about it at the time, but I think he loves it now that it’s done and off his plate.  Mom helped to frame the last few pieces of artwork that needed it, though we’re waiting on furniture before we hang anything.  Baby’s gear is out of boxes, washed, and assembled.  Really nothing else we can do until she arrives.

3.  Shopping and more shopping with my mom

In an attempt to “walk the baby out,” we ran around town the first couple of days after Mom got here, buying mostly nonessential items.  The problem was that my mom is currently in a boot for a sprained ankle and walks slower than a turtle’s pace, so it wasn’t quite the level of exertion I needed to be of any use, but we did find some cute items for the baby and shared some quality mother-daughter time together, so not all was a lost cause.

4.  Suns game on Friday

This turned out to be a bad idea.  Going out in public is an invitation for people’s poor choice of words, senseless comments, and looks.  People, the only thing acceptable to say to a pregnant woman is “You look amazing!” Wrong things to say:  “You are so brave!” (for coming out to a baseball game looking like a whale) and “I never let myself get that far!” (like I have any say in when my baby comes).  The whole evening I felt like a fat, out-of-shape freak.  The stairs aggravated my sciatic nerves, and so I literally had a pain in my ass for the next day and a half.

5.  Visiting with friends/movies/dinner

A couple of our friends stopped by on Saturday evening to see how we were doing after I had to cancel our lunch plans due to my unexpected trip to the hospital.  Went to a movie and dinner with my mom and another friend on Sunday.  Was able to get to see the best of two worlds collide:  Brad Pitt and zombies.

6.  Attempting to kick-start labor on my own

Spicy food, greasy Chinese food, walking, bouncing.  I’m done trying everyone’s suggestions for helping kick-start labor.  All it did was give me heartburn, a sick stomach, discomfort, and fatigue.  I’ve decided to let baby and my doctors do their thing.  She’ll either come when she’s ready, or if it becomes necessary, I’ll be induced.  Also, the most sensible advice is that I rest up now and not wear myself out before I’m unable to sleep for the next 6 months to life.

Weekly Run Down:

How far along? 40 weeks (and 5 days)

Total weight gain:  34 lbs.

Baby is the size of: a baby.

How’s baby doing?  Apparently, she’s quite content.

Belly Bump:  hasn’t grown past 37 cm

40 weeks

Standard summer maternity wear: stretchy tank and skirt. Thank you, Target.

Maternity clothes?  I’m recycling the same 3-4 outfits, and they’re basically all the same look:  stretchy cotton skirt and a stretchy cotton tank top.  It’s warm, and I’m all about comfort.  I’m huge, but I’m over wearing the maxi dresses that make me look even bigger.

Stretch marks?  Not yet

Sleep:  Same 

Miss anything?  Shaving.  Never thought I’d say that, but a few weeks ago I decided I was over shaving until baby gets here and I can see my legs again. So now I’m rocking hairy legs in the summer time, and I wish I could say I cared.

Movement: Less space = less movement.  Her kicking and stretching have become much more gentle.

Food cravings: none

Anything making you queasy or sick: not really

Gender predictionWe’re having a girl.

Labor signs:  bleeding, cramping, some irregular contractions, belly has dropped slightly

Symptoms: The usual discomforts.

Belly button in or out? It’s out, and it’s ugly.

Wedding rings on or off? Tight, but still on.

Happy or moody most of the time?  Neither.  I’m kind of in a state of annoyed limbo.  I wish I had something to take my mind off of, “When is she going to get here?” but I’ve got nothing to do but wait.

Looking forward to:  I think it goes without saying what I’m looking forward to.

Next appointment:  June 26th

Leave a Reply

