Mother’s Day

IMG_9889I meant to write this much sooner while my memory was fresh, but I forgot, and then we went out of town.  So here is an abbreviated and less sappy.  I was feeling a ton of sap on that Sunday!

I think I was more excited about this day than my birthday.  I also felt like it was more a day to appreciate how lucky I am to be Ellis’s mother instead of a day for Ellis and Trav to appreciate me being a mother.  But I enjoyed being appreciated anyway!  We were up super early because Ellis just wanted me to really enjoy my ENTIRE day with her as much as I could.  So we played and cuddled while Trav made a delicious as always pancake breakfast.  He made it super fancy by adding blueberries and bananas on top.  After such a filling meal, we decided to take a walk in the park.  We didn’t make it too far around the trail before I needed to relieve my tiny bladder.  The closest restrooms happen to be next to the playground, so we took Ellis to play on the swing and equipment, and we had the whole place to ourselves.  Afterward, Ellis took a nap and we cleaned up at home.  Ellis and Trav presented me with gifts after Ellis’s nap.  I got two new beach towels, a beach mat, and beach bag, which I hope to put to good use, a computer backup thingy to load the millions of photos I’ve taken of Ellis (still have to figure out how to use it), and a “Mommy” box where I can put all my keepsakes from Ellis, along with a handwritten note with Ellis’s hand and foot prints.  I was feeling selfish, so we headed for lunch an hour before Ellis’s afternoon nap time, which meant she’d be taking a late nap that day.  We went to Derby on Park in Riverside because it’s good, and less likely to be as busy.  Back at home, Ellis napped and then we got on Skype to chat with my mom and wish her a happy Mother’s Day.  Then it was time to pack for our trip to KC.  It felt good to get everything organized and ready because last time we went out of town we waited until the last minute, and it caused a lot of stress.

Leave a Reply

