11 Months

1-1-Temp1_attachments(3)

You may or may not know this about me, but eleven is my favorite number.  So I have a feeling this is going to be a really good month.  It’s also the last time we can say you’re “zewo” years old!  In just one more month you will be a year old.  But let’s enjoy you for who you are right now.  You have grown leaps and bounds just this last month, and you’re far too smart for my liking.  No, actually, I LOVE how smart you are and how much you’ve grown.  Let’s discuss, shall we?photo 1(4)

  • You cut your first four teeth all at once.  The first one, top right, poked through first on Mother’s Day, and the other three, top and bottom front teeth came soon after.  You are a champion teether, because with four teeth, one would think you’d be cranky and in a lot of pain, but it hasn’t seemed to bother you a bit.
  • You got sick for the first time ever.  It just so happened on the morning of your first airplane ride to my hometown of Kansas City.  I was so sad for you, but you are a sweet, amazing baby even when you have a 103 degree temperature.

    This is as good as it's going to get on a chair that rocks.  Ellis thinks it's a ride.

    This is as good as it’s going to get on a chair that rocks. Ellis thinks it’s a ride.

  • You took your first airplane ride.  I was worried about your ears, especially with you teething, but you happen to be an amazing flyer, too.  Seriously, how lucky did we get with you?
  • You open and close your hands.  You are either saying “hi,” “bye,” or “milk.”  And it can be very confusing figuring out which one you mean.  The other night when I was putting you down, you started fussing, and I asked, “How do you say ‘milk’?”  You started making the sign, and I got so excited.  Everyone says her baby is smart, but it’s because we are so surprised at how much you understand and grasp.  I have to be very careful what I say and do in front of you, because you are more aware than I have given you credit for.
  • When we ask you, “How big is Ellis?,” you lift your arms above your head.
  • When we ask you to show us your tongue, you stick it out.
  • You give cheesy grins when we take your picture.  Love it.
  • You have enough hair that I can put barrettes in it, but you are more likely to pull them out, as well as pull off your headbands.  When you were younger, I don’t think you even realized they were on your head.
  • Not a whole lot of progress with walking.  You’ve made a couple of attempts to stand on your own, but you sit on your butt almost immediately.  I’m worried about your left foot because it’s almost always flexed.  I’m worried that your tendon is tight because you never relax your foot.  We try tomassage your ankle and do little exercises, but I need to talk with your pediatrician about it.

    What's up?

    What’s up?

  • You loved crawling up Oma’s stairs.  She has a lot of them, and they didn’t deter you.  But it also meant I couldn’t turn my back for one second.  Where’s Ellis?  Oh, she’s already up the first two stairs.
  • You have a very hard time being away from me, and by away, I mean anything more than a foot.
  • You are in size 3 diapers, and at your urgent care visit in KC, you weighed 17 lbs 14 oz.

 

Ready to melt your hearts?

Leave a Reply

