First Birthday Gift Ideas

A while ago, a mom acquaintance at one of the baby groups I go to whose daughter is only a week older than Ellis asked me what I was thinking of as birthday gifts.  At the time, I hadn’t really thought much about it.  A couple of fun toys and done!  But now that we’re only a couple weeks away from the big day, I’ve had to get my act together.

Shh!  Don’t tell Ellis, but I’m about to share with you what we’re getting her for her first birthday.  I blame My Gym because she was exposed to the majority of these items there and LOVES them.  The problem with My Gym is they keep one station out for five minutes, and you have to fight 20 other moms and dads to give your little one a two-second turn doing whatever.  Giving her unlimited access to fun at home makes us both happy.

1-Recently Updated171.  Little Tikes 2-in-1 Snug N Secure Swing – Ellis loves to swing.  Although she loves going to the park, some days it’s just tough to get our act together and get out the door. It’ll be nice to have one at home so we don’t have to trek all the way to the park (a 10-minute car ride).

2.  See Me 6′ Tunnel – I think this is the same one they have at My Gym. photo It’s got a couple of “windows”, but it’s not completely see-through.  Crawling through tunnels and tight places is her newest obsession.  See how much she loves it?

3.  Little Tikes Rocking Horse – This is perfect for her size and ability to climb on and off.  Trav (and I) originally wanted to get her this adorable rocker from Pottery Barn.  It’s so whimsical and sweet… and really impractical as well as expensive.  She wouldn’t be able to get on and off of it herself, nor play alone (and isn’t that sometimes the goal?).  This plastic one sits low to the ground, and is safe and durable.  Trav gave me a high-five for my genius.

4.  Little Tikes Push & Ride Racer/Doll Walker – I haven’t ordered this one yet, and I am a bit irked by the sexism of the two COMPLETELY identical ride-ons (save for the colors).  The blue, red, and yellow model is called a “racer” while the pastel-y blue, pink, and white one is called a “doll walker.”  I see this so often in toys and clothes and everything for girls and boys.  I’m okay with pink, but I’m also okay with my daughter liking dinosaurs and trains.  However, it’s almost impossible to find girl clothes or toys that have dinosaurs, trains, planes, or anything other than princesses and flowers on them.  It’s like we’re teaching girls to be dainty, helpless, and image-conscious from the start.  Anyway, it doesn’t really matter which color I get in this toy, but I have held off on purchasing it because I can’t find anywhere that offers free shipping on this item, so I have to see if I can pick it up somewhere locally.

As you can see, we have an active girl on our hands, so I picked things out that will help her burn energy at home.  We bought her a pair of Stride Rite shoes, too, for when she’s really walking.  I didn’t realize the ones I chose were actually water shoes, but we live in Florida, it’s summer time, so they seem appropriate enough.  I just hope she doesn’t outgrow them before she can really use them.   We are going to have to invest in a convertible car seat soon, which will be a pricey purchase, so I guess we can tack that on as a birthday gift, too!

Leave a Reply

