It’s Labor Day, Seriously.

I’m kind of freaking out right now.  Minor panic attack.  You see, I got a message from the Y’s group fitness coordinator asking me to come in on Tuesday to interview and audition for an instructor position.  I had put this on the back burner because all of the hoops I’ve been jumping through having been leading me to believe that it would be a long journey before I got a chance to work at the Y.  We had BBQ plans on Sunday which kept us out having fun til late, and then there was this thing called a sh’ton of reading I still had left to finish for my graduate class.  Add to that a sweet little toddler who wants me to pick her up so that she can bang on the keyboard, and I’m feeling a little like there’s not enough time in the world to do everything I need to accomplish.  My solution?  Use up even more of my invaluable time writing a silly blog post about a dessert I made yesterday.  Yeah.  Good call.  But if it takes my mind off my stress for just a little while, then we’ll call it worth it.

Basically, I’m writing a post about a recipe because it doesn’t exist on the web, and I want to be able to pin it for future use.  I guess you can say it was that good.  But also, I was all domestic and didn’t bring a store-bought dessert to a party, for which I am proud!

Fruit Pizza Mashup

Fruit Pizza Mashup

*This recipe is a combination of several recipes and readers’ noted alterations.

INGREDIENTS

2 packages sugar cookie dough

8 oz cream cheese (softened)

1/2 C confectioner’s sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 container Cool Whip (thawed)

fruit toppings

1 C pineapple juice (unsweetened)

1/2 sugar

pinch of salt

1/2 T lemon juice

2 T corn starch

Preheat oven to 350F.  Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray to prevent sticking.

Prepare the cookie crust by rolling out and flattening one and a half packages of cookie dough.  You can choose to form it in the circular shape of a pizza, or just a rectangle like I did.  Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.  Let cool, then carefully lift cookie crust off pan, and flip it upside down onto a serving platter.  I cut the edges off to make it look prettier and fit my serving tray.

Wash and cut your fruit.*  Let sit in a colander, or lay on paper towels to drain.  This prevents a soggy crust.  *I used blueberries and strawberries to go with the “patriotic” labor day theme, but you can use whatever fruits you prefer.

For the “sauce.”

Combine cream cheese, cool whip, confectioner’s sugar, and vanilla.  Whip until smooth consistency.  Spread evenly on top of cookie crust.  (I had leftover cream.)

Add your fruit.

For the glaze.

Combine pineapple juice, sugar, salt,  lemon juice and cornstarch in a pan. Heat to boiling, boil and stir 1 minute. Let cool to room temperature, then drizzle over your fruit pizza.  (Next time I am going to try less cornstarch.  I’m not sure how necessary it was.)

Enjoy!

IMG_3570 IMG_3579

Leave a Reply

