Big Things in 2015

I still haven’t finished writing about our trip to KC for Thanksgiving, let alone post about our trip to the mountains or Christmas, but it’s a new year, and I’d like reflect on 2014 and look ahead to a promising 2015.

In 2014,
  • Our baby turned into a toddler.
  • I finished my last course in my Masters program.  I’m putting off applying for graduation because I’m wavering between completing the School Media certification or not.  I’m kind of to the point that I just want to be done.  I don’t want to intern again, but it’s one of the requirements.
  • I became a certified group ex instructor and started teaching part time at the Y.
  • We visited Miami, KC, Iowa, Kansas, and Georgia.
  • My husband and I went through a rough patch and have been focusing on what we need from each other and our goals for a happy and satisfying life together.
  • I’ve been doing some internal examining of what I can do to better myself and live a happier life.

So, with that in mind, as empty and redundant as it sounds, I really want to make some big changes in 2015.  I hope to look back on this list next year and be able to say, “Yep, check.  Check.  Did it.  Done.”

For Ellis,
  • Get involved in “Mommy and Me” type activities again.  I plan on signing her up for gymnastics and possibly a music class.
  • Work on colors, numbers, shapes, and more body parts.  I’m not sure what else I’m supposed to be teaching her.  I guess I’ll look into that…
  • Enough with the nursing.  I’m over it.  She is not.
  • Hopefully, get her signed up for preschool beginning in the summer or fall.
  • Potty.  Training.
  • Swimming lessons
For my relationship with my husband,
  • better communication
  • make an effort to have at least one date a month
  • show more love and appreciation
  • laugh more
For me,
  • watch more tv/movies (Seriously.)
  • read more books
  • listen to music I like, even if no one else does
  • sing more
  • Eat less sugar.  Drink less wine.  Eat more veggies.
  • Stop wishing to move back to the Midwest.  It’s not going to happen.  Time to come to terms with it.stop-trying-to-make-fetch-happen
  • Find a real doctor.  Stop going to Solantic/CareSpot.
Bigger things that are (kind of) out of my control,
  • Get my name on the Brooks schedule, even if I share or team teach.
  • MOVE.  Out of this house.  Out of this neighborhood.  We’ve been here far longer than either of us like.
  • Baby #2.
  • Graduate from graduate school.  Seriously.
Leave a Reply

