Weekend at the Farm… and Target

We had plans to visit Connor’s Amaizing Acres last Saturday for their Easter Egg-stravaganza.  Connor’s is the place to go in the fall for all sorts of seasonal farm fun including a corn maze, wagon ride, pumpkin picking, and horse rides.  It’s an hour drive, so it’s got to be worthwhile for all those families who have to travel that far with kids.  This weekend was unseasonably cold.  So cold that I didn’t believe my weather app, and also, what does 58 degrees feel like?  I couldn’t remember.

Fortunately, Ellis took a 40 minute nap in the car on the way, so we didn’t have to worry about her being tired and cranky.  She woke up about 5 minutes before we got there.  We took a hay ride and fed the cows.  We rode the cow train.  We ate really good barbecue.  When it came time for the Easter egg hunt, Ellis wanted to play in the corn instead, so when we finally got her over to the barn, the egg hunt was over.  She enjoyed watching all the different types of fowl and kept saying, “Cock-a-doooo!”

IMG_9109

My attempt at keeping her entertained for the hour ride home.

 

Back at home, we pulled out a cheap dollar store kite I had purchased for her Easter basket.  It was a breezy day, so it seemed like a great time to try it out.  Well, lesson learned that you get what you pay for.  It was still fun to hang out together outside, and when we were done playing, we pulled out some blankets (Alex was shivering in my lap) and just cuddled together.

IMG_9118

That’s Alex’s little white head poking out of the blanket.

 

Sunday, I took Ellis to church while Travase went to take care of things at our old house in preparation of my mom and grandmother moving in.  But that evening when he got back home, I needed to go to Target, so we decided to make it a family trip.  Let me tell you how much I’ve been wanting a family trip to Target, and I’m not joking!  Going with a toddler can be interesting, somewhat fun, but also stressful, and I’m sure to leave with things we didn’t need and forget things that we did need.  Going by myself can be a nice treat, but it’s also lonely, and I look around at all the moms with their children and sometimes husbands in tow, and I miss my family.  So yeah, I was excited to have the extra help and companionship.

Overall, my favorite weekends are the ones where my family is together, no matter what we’re doing.

Leave a Reply

