A Case of the Mondays

June 15th, 2015

Please let this morning go more smoothly than the last two Mondays!

June 8th, 2015

It’s 10:30, and I’m exhausted already.

I woke up at a quarter to 4 this morning and willed myself to stay in bed as long as I could, but by 5:30, I gave up and came downstairs for coffee and internet.  Yesterday it dawned on me that Ellis’s birthday is less than a month away, and I really haven’t done any planning or pre-planning.  Last year, I started Pinning 1st birthday ideas months in advance.  This year, I am a complete slacker.

Somehow I managed to find myself on Craigslist looking for used, but acceptable and affordable, birthday gifts.  In between my two cups of coffee, I shot out a few emails to see what might still be available and made up a batch of cinnamon rolls for breakfast because I was starving.

I got replies from a couple of things, including a $15 train table.  Yep, $15.  But he needed me to pick it up ASAP.  Ellis was awake, but I hadn’t gotten her up yet, let alone brush my teeth.  So, I scrambled to get her fed and get us out the door for a 30 minute drive and a meeting time of 8:30.  I was feeling a little apprehensive for my and my daughter’s safety, so I let the Facebook world know where I was going in case the worst should happen.

Turned out he wasn’t a scary murderer and was extremely helpful in helping load the hulking table into my car.  I hadn’t even thought about the fact that it might not fit with Ellis in the backseat.  I had to move her car seat, but it all worked out.

We headed back to our side of town and were only 10 minutes late for My Gym.  I should probably also mention that Ellis was still in her pajamas.  But at least she got to burn off some energy after having been in a car the first hour of her morning.

I spent the rest of the morning cleaning up our kitchen, cleaning up after/taking care of Trav who was sick, and cleaning up after our dog who is just a turd.

June 1, 2015

This morning at My Gym, Ellis was jumping on the trampoline with another little girl.  They were holding hands and hugging while they were jumping up and down.  Inevitably, they knocked into one another – Ellis’s head and the little girl’s mouth.  Ellis was fine, but the girl cut her lip.  She took it like a champ, but I felt horrible being part of the reason a little girl was bleeding.

Ellis doesn’t like “separation time” there any more, but as long as the toys they bring out are interesting enough, they’ll hold her attention for a while.  Some other kids hate separation time even more.  It was another little girl’s first class this morning, and one of the coaches was holding her because she was screaming her head off.  Apparently, she’s one of those who makes herself sick when she gets upset, and she upchucked all over the poor coach and the carpet.  Fortunately, most of the kids were playing puzzles nowhere near where she got sick.  The commotion knocked Ellis out of her puzzle trance, and she came running to find me.  At that point, there was no point in getting her to try to stay through the end of class.  The smell of the vomit alone was making me want to dry heave.  Am I not a mom?  Am I not supposed to be used to gross bodily fluids?  Nope.  We were out of there.