4 Months

IMG_3098I’m hoping now that Ellis is out of school for the summer, we can create a more consistent routine at home.  We mostly have a routine, there just isn’t any conscious effort to follow it.  It’s organic, I say with much sarcasm.

Stats

Height: 26.5 inches (94th percentile)

You’re wearing 6 month clothes and in between size 2 and 3 diapers.  To put that into perspective, Ellis was in size 4 diapers when she was potty trained at 2.5.

Weight: 15 lb. 7 oz (49th percentile)

You have your momma’s figure – tiny arms and big bottom.  You don’t push up with your arms yet, and I blame your lack of upper body strength on my genetics.  You have pretty squeezable thighs though.

Head: 17″ circumference (89th percentile)

I couldn’t get your onesie back over your head at your doctor’s appointment.  Doh.

EAT.

Technically at 4 months we can start introducing you to solids.  I held off until Ellis was about 5.5 months, and I will probably do the same with you.  Nursing is going well, but you don’t mind taking a bottle either.  I still have to be careful about the amount of dairy I consume.

PLAY.

You can grab objects with your hands, but you also pull your socks off your hands and your paci out of your mouth.  (The socks were initially on your hands to prevent you from scratching your sweet face, but then I also put them on you at nap time so you would stop pulling your paci out of your mouth.)  All floor time is tummy time these days.  You can roll from your back to your belly, and you do just about every time I put you on the floor.  The problem is you haven’t figured out how to return to your back even though the first day you were rolling over it was from your belly to your back.  I can’t leave you on your play mat now because I did that once to take a shower, and not too long into it I heard you screaming.  You were stuck on your belly and couldn’t roll over.  You’ve rolled over in your bed a couple of times, too, usually when you’re wide awake, so I check on you often at night to make sure you’re asleep on your back.  You don’t have the strength to roll over on a soft surface like the couch or our bed, so that’s where I lay you down for your naps.  (I hear all the old ladies right now saying, “It won’t be long!”)

You love to chat and be face-to-face.  You giggle when I pretend to eat your neck.

You like to play in your jungle bouncer, a favorite of Ellis’s, too.  You’re not quite tall enough for the lowest setting, so we stick a pillow under you and you sit and play in it.  You also hang out in the Bumbo and the Fisher-Price chair, and play with toys or listen to a story with your sister.

IMG_2821

Playing cars with your sister.

SLEEP.

With the exception of growth spurts or developmental leaps, you only wake once to feed at night, usually around 2:30.  Then around 6 or 6:30, you’ll eat again and either hang out in your crib or sleep for another 30 minutes to an hour.  You still nap after every 1-1.5 hours of wake time.  With Ellis, I made an elaborate deal out of putting her down for a nap.  With you, I lay you in a soft, cozy, somewhat quiet spot (usually our bed in the morning while I’m getting ready and on the couch in the afternoon during Ellis’s nap), give you a paci, tuck a blanket over you, and let you do your thing.  If we’re out, you might sleep in your car seat in the car or in the Tula (baby carrier).  You take cat naps in the morning, but I think if we weren’t running around, or if you had a consistently quiet place, you’d sleep longer.

Yesterday, you had woken up and then fell back asleep.  I saw Ellis go upstairs, and I asked her what she was doing.  She said she was going to put her flashlight in her room.  I said, “Okay, but be quiet because your brother is still sleeping.”  “Okay, Mommy!”  Five minutes later I went to check on her, and she was in our bed playing with you.  I kind of love it when she gives you attention, so it was hard to be upset about it, and you didn’t seem bothered at all.

Our lives still revolve around your sister’s naps, so I aim to have us home by 1 pm.  I put her in her room and get you set up on the couch.  Some days you have trouble dozing off or staying asleep, and I get nothing done.  Other days, I can make all the noise in the world, and you sleep right through.  You and your sister usually wake from your naps at the same time, whether it be 3:30 or 4:45.  You might take one more cat nap before bedtime, which is around 8 pm.

You don’t use a swaddle, and you outgrew the Magic Merlin sleep suit (not so magical but kept you warm and cozy) in less than a month of having it.  So at night, you sleep in footie pajamas, socks on your hands (to prevent scratching and keep your hands warm), and your grandma’s blanket.

Nap time

Afternoon nap.

REPEAT.

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

