8 Months

8 Months Old

(Written October 20th)  Tomorrow you turn 8 months old.  You could say I’m on top of this update, but I’ll be real with you.  I can’t find my phone, and the tv is broken.  Seriously, my iPhone 6 plus is the size of a brick, and I can’t find it anywhere in this house.  And your daddy is at HHGregg as we speak replacing the TV we bought a mere 3 months ago.  So I’m eating potato chips, drinking wine, and bored with Facebook and YouTube.  I could go upstairs and watch Keeping Up With The Kardashians (I started watching that this week after being fed up with the election-heavy news coverage), but your sister is still awake, and also I have to finish this bottle, I mean glass of wine.

Asher, everybody loves you.  You have the best smile, the best giggle.  To the world, you are the happiest baby, and really you are.  You have whiny days, but don’t we all?  You just recently learned to sit yourself up on your own, and so when you wake up from sleeping you often sit up and don’t know what you should do after (here’s a hint:  lay down and go back to sleep).  You are fully crawling now and move at an alarming speed when there’s something you want or places you want to go.  With all of this mobility comes new experiences and new environments.  You were once confined to the middle of the living room, and now you find your way to the patio door, Mommy and Daddy’s bathroom, your sister’s toys that she is huddling under her legs to keep from you…

We’ve lowered the mattress in your crib, and it looks like this weekend we are going to be installing some baby gates to the stairs.  More baby-proofing is necessary.  I’m in the process of moving all of Ellis’s tiny toys (choking hazards) to her bedroom.  And we’re back to needing to vacuum every day to try and avoid you putting random dirt and hair in your mouth.

You are wearing 6-12 mo/9-12 mo/9 mo clothes (why are kids’ sizing so difficult?!?) and size 3 diapers.  You enjoy eating puffs and love the banana, spinach, blueberry puree I made for you.  I need to start working on some new purees.  I tried offering you cut up watermelon and on another occasion cut up banana, but you’re still not excited about finger food.

siblings

Save

Leave a Reply

